Mason Boys Golf 2020 GMC Champions!

Mason High School Athletics Boys Golf


Mason Boys Golf won their programs 2nd GMC Championship after two-days of furious rounds at Walden Ponds Golf Course on Thursday.  It had been 8 years (2012) since the Comets held the coveted GMC Trophy.  It took some record-setting performances by the Comets to overcome the 6-time defending champs (10 overall), the Lakota East Thunderhawks.  Mason shot a team score of 578 to outdistance East by 6 strokes.  The Comets 283 under-par team score tied a one-day, all-time record for the conference tourney (East 283-2018).  

Mason’s A.J. Wilhelm established a new individual low scoring record with his two-day total of 135 (former record 136-Kyle Schmidt, East 2018).  AJ’s under-par 65 score on Tuesday is also a GMC one-day low score record.  For his efforts the “super sophomore” was named the GMC Player of the Year. This is the 2nd year in a row that a Mason boys golfer has won that GMC accolade, as current “super soph”, Nate Vonderhaar, won the title last year.  

Five Mason golfers earned first-team All GMC honors.  See scores below:—AJ Willhelm (10), 1st-135—Charlie Golski (12), tied for 3rd-146—Daniel Heister (10), tied for 7th-149—Nate Vonderhaar (10), 9th-151—Timmy Hollenback (10), tied for 10th-152

Senior, Carson Howard was Mason’s 6th man and finished 25th overall with a 168.  

Mason Head Coach Tim Lambert received the GMC Coach of the Year honor.  This was Lamberts 2nd COY recognition (2012, 2020).  

With four of Mason’s top five golfers only being 10th graders, the future looks extremely bright as the team prepares for the Sectional, District, and State Tournament competitions in the coming weeks of postseason play.